U.S. Mission to ASEAN Awards Nine Scholars to the U.S.-ASEAN Fulbright Program

JAKARTA.  The United States and the Association of Southeast Asia Nations (ASEAN) announced today nine new Fulbright U.S.-ASEAN Visiting Scholars selected through the Fulbright U.S.-ASEAN Initiative, sponsored by the U.S. Department of State.  The Visiting Scholars will join a distinguished group of Fulbright alumni known for their contributions to science, economics, education, and maritime security.

Candidates representing all 10 ASEAN member states submitted applications under the Fulbright U.S.-ASEAN Initiative and proposed research projects on issues that are central to the U.S.-ASEAN relationship. A review panel that included officials from the U.S. Mission to ASEAN, the ASEAN Committee of Permanent Representatives and the ASEAN Secretariat, made recommendations to the Presidentially-appointed J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board for consideration.

The Fulbright U.S.-ASEAN Initiative was announced by then U.S. Secretary of State Hillary Clinton at the 2012 U.S.-ASEAN Ministerial Meeting and marks over 36 years of friendship and cooperation between ASEAN and the United States.

The selected candidates are:

Dr. Sopheak Rey, Researcher at Institute of Technology of Cambodia

Dr. Wahyu Pandoe, Program Director at Agency for the Assessment & Application of Technology in Indonesia

Dr. Zulkifli Hasan, Senior Lecturer at Islamic Science University of Malaysia

Dr. Poe Poe, Professor at Yangon University in Myanmar

Dr. Jay Batongbacal, Assistant Professor at the University of the Philippines

Mr. John Paul Cruz from the Institute on Disability & Public Policy in the Philippines

Dr. Subadhra Rai, Senior Lecturer at Nanyang Polytechnic in Singapore

Dr. Nlin Arya, Lecturer, at Mahidol University in Thailand

Mrs. Ha Ngan To, Lecturer, at Hanoi University in Vietnam

The Fulbright Program was established in 1946 under legislation introduced by late U.S. Senator J. William Fulbright and is sponsored by the United States Department of State in partnership with governments around the world. It is the United States’ flagship international educational exchange program and is designed to increase mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the people of other countries. Approximately 318,000 Fulbright Scholars – 120,000 from the United States and 198,000 from other countries – have participated in the Program since its inception over sixty years ago. The Fulbright Program awards approximately 8,000 new grants annually, and operates in over 155 countries worldwide.